A Tair-11 – It was meant to be…

10 comentarios
*Photography, *Reviews

Old lens on modern DSLR

I have to admit it that I was very curios and since my father gave me his old Pentacon six lenses (old lenses for medium format film camera… pretty heavy and big I used them until the camera stopped working and I never considered buying an adapter for this lenses but then my father gave me a Tair-11 2.8/133mm KMZ russian lens from 1958 with M39 screw mount for Zenit SLR… So I had to try this one on my 5D and well I ended up buying a M-39 to M-42 adapter and a M-42 to EOS adapter the cheap ones without focus confirmation.

After cleaning the lens:

Some shots: Most of them where shot wide open. Well the most obvious ones not…

To be honest I didn’t expected that a 56 years old lens would perform so well… even set the focus to infinity… and I expected much more flare issues but…

Used with the 5D mark I & III

 

Escrito por

Founder of Lichtbild & Head of his own strange world / Vintage Enthusiast / Photographer / Graphic Designer /Typography "lover" / Book Collector / Spanish+German Mix / Lives in Coruña / Sometimes heads back home & Sleeps. /*

10 thoughts on “A Tair-11 – It was meant to be…”

  1. Toll. Nur weil etwas alt ist, muß es nicht gleich unbrauchbar sein. Die Fotos find ich klasse. Woher wusstest Du, daß es mit der Linse funktioniert? Ich meine gelesen zu haben, das es oft auch passieren kann, daß man alte Linsen nicht auf unendlich benutzen kann, weil trotz Adapter das Objektiv so weit in den Spiegelkasten hineinragt, das der Spiegel beim auslösen hängen bleibt. Ich hab irgendwo in den Weiten des Internets schon Listen gefunden, welche Objektive mit den neuen Kameras kompatibel sind, aber da stehen natürlich längst nicht alle Linsen drin. Weiß im Moment nur, daß ich meine alten FD Objektive nicht an die 5er basteln kann.
    Wünsche Dir ein schönes Osterfest und LG
    kiki

    Me gusta

    • Naja ich wusste nur das viele Russische Helios linsen dieses Problem haben. Über die Tair-11 wusste ich nichts bis mein Vater mir die Linse gab… da hab ich den Fokus ring auf unendlich gedreht und da nichts herausragte kaufte ich mir die Adapter und war erstaunt nicht nur weil es sehr solide gebaut ist sondern auch über die Qualität. Ich hab auch noch einige Pentacon six DDR linsen aber die wiegen mir zuviel XD…Aber deine alten FD Objektive kannst du mit einem AF-Hilfslicht-Adapter FD-Objektiv – Canon EOS (mit Unendlich-Linse) an die 5D basteln. Hab diesen link zu einem deutschen laden in Hannover kannst ja mal dort fragen…hab aber keine Ahnung ob du dadurch an Qualität verlierst…Wünsche Dir auch ein schönes Osterfest…(was heisst LG?) ;P

      Me gusta

      • Vielen Dank Alberto, ich werde mir den Link anschauen. Im Grunde geht es mir nur darum, daß ich die alten FD Linsen einfach nicht ungenutzt herum liegen lassen möchte. Bei den neuen Vollformatkameras von Sony passen die Linsen sehr gut, aber da klappt auch kein Spiegel hoch und runter…
        LG heißt einfach nur Liebe Grüße
        kiki

        Me gusta

    • Well I do not underestimate the building quality of old cameras and lenses my father had his Pentacon six for 30 years and it never went to maintenance… and believe me he used it a lot… my Canon 5D 2007 model went already several times to repair but I thought well old lenses perhaps issues with the coating, flares, contrast, color… I am used to manual focusing because I have some Zeiss lenses but I never expected such results…the only thing I had to get used was that the focus ring is behind the aperture ring… well I suspect my father already knew that I would like it ;D he is always trying to teach me something.

      Me gusta

  2. thanks for directing me to this post as well… :) these are really fantastic photos in terms of focus, contrast and colors.. are these shots sooc?
    I can never focus properly with a manual focus lens, but then I have never tried to… :)
    it always pays off to try new things in photography… :)

    Me gusta

    • Yes, they have basic Raw sooc, normally for the 5D there are a lot of interchangeable focusing screens for better focusing with manual lenses.

      Me gusta

Responder

