Editorial design

8 comentarios
*Der Kampf, *Editorial, *Graphic Design

Well I do not know what happened but this time I had some issues with the emulsion and the Masking Fluid perhaps the liquid emulsion was not dry enough to resist some more manipulations but the masking fluid was very difficult to remove… and when I was painting on the emulsion the ink not grabbed well. I am between keeping it and tearing it apart… this is the 7th version… of Page 05-06 well perhaps its better to keep it for some days… and decide later if I use it or not.

 

Escrito por

Founder of Lichtbild & Head of his own strange world / Vintage Enthusiast / Photographer / Graphic Designer /Typography "lover" / Book Collector / Spanish+German Mix / Lives in Coruña / Sometimes heads back home & Sleeps. /*

8 thoughts on “Editorial design”

  1. I’m not sure I understand correctly what happened here (blush)… you draw the map yourself? and then the ink got smudgy? please, don’t tear it apart, I guess it took you hours of work? :) I’d keep it in a folder entitled “Trial and Error” :) :)

    Me gusta

    • Well in part drawn here you can read a little bit about a simple but effective technique… but sometimes working with photographic emulsion is not quite easy you need to let the emulsion dry enough to resist some more manipulations…sometimes the fixer solution (The fixer stabilises the image, removing the unexposed silver halide remaining on the photographic emulsion) is already worn and therefore the the image deteriorates…and sometimes after fixation, washing is important to remove the exhausted chemicals from the emulsion, which cause image deterioration if left in place but you need to be careful because the emulsion can get off the paper (Photographic emulsion is a light-sensitive colloid. Most commonly, in silver- gelatin) and you need to be careful with the gelatin… and sometimes I am not convinced with the grayscale… since you need to work in layers you need to work from white to dark… And then the ink was not well absorbed by the paper (perhaps to much gelatin)… I only see errors ;P honestly every page needs various days for the layers to get dry… and finishing it 10 days minimum :) I will keep it for now promised XD… Since I use mixed techniques its difficult to explain…

      Me gusta

  2. Love your artistry and tenacity, Alberto — really such wonderful detail. It must be frustrating when it doesn’t come out as you hoped, but I so appreciate your creativity.

    Me gusta

    • Thanks Neely and I have not forgotten the tutorial with the child portraits “painted with charcoal” do you remember? from my old blog?…and if you want I post it the following days…

      Me gusta

    • I should tell you that its an interpretation of earth after the sea level rises. Only an artistic interpretation no scientific research with real data… its some work for my book you can see here some more pages. I’m still far away from reaching the 500 pages…Its a sci-fi novel I wrote 10 years back (wow).

      Me gusta

Responder

