CHNO

3 comentarios
*Der Kampf, *Digital Art, *Editorial, *Graphic Design

Some more random digitized and remastered pages from my book… I used a bunch of different techniques mixed together to create that book what resulted to be a problem. When I started I did not pay attention to the quality of the paper or the various materials etc… well in the meantime, several years have passed (I am a little wiser now) and you can already see the yellowing of the paper, the mildew stains on paper and the ink fading away fortunately I have digitized the original pages…

Der Kampf

There are many types of mildew/mold and the 4 common to books are known as “Foxing”, the spore like fungi gets its name from the (F)errous (Ox)ide or the iron it is attracted to in the paper, usually chemical wood pulp, and all are activated by the same cause… relative humidity. (luckily I live next to the sea)

While I thought I had taken all possible precautions to prevent that by regulating the ambient following some tips for the proper storage I was explained that it is nearly impossible or quite difficult in a normal household…

So I am starting to get a problem with oxidation that will cause the paper to become brittle. If the oxidation has penetrated right through the paper, chances are that the pages will be lost… well it ads some personality…

Escrito por

Founder of Lichtbild & Head of his own strange world / Vintage Enthusiast / Photographer / Graphic Designer /Typography "lover" / Book Collector / Spanish+German Mix / Lives in Coruña / Sometimes heads back home & Sleeps. /*

3 thoughts on “CHNO”

    • Thank you very much :D your words are as always very appreciated… well the first images are twelve years old by now (wow) but I don´t think that I will lose them… I hope

      Me gusta

Responder

