TAIR-11 2.8/133mm KMZ “GRAND PRIX Brussels 1958” lens

9 comentarios
*Black&White, *Film, *Photography, *Portraits, *Reviews

Some review with a film camera well a unique feature of the Tair 11 series is the twenty aperture blades, far more than many modern lenses. Produced by KMZ Krasnogorsk Mechanical Works. The 1958 world fair in Brussels not only gave us the Atomium, but also Grand Prix Brussels 1958 lenses.

It also gave us the Kometa, KMZ’s specially built hypermodern rangefinder camera in the league of Leica’s M3, of which two prototypes were taken to Brussels that vanished soon thereafter, but that’s a different story.

At least three Russian optics could boast the award: the MIR-1 37mm f/2.8, the Tair-11 133mm f/2.8, and the Tair-3 300mm f/4.5. I don’t know if those were the only lenses to receive the Grand Prix, or even if the Grand Prix was a rare honor, but this is all I got from my superficial investigation.

TAIR-11 2.8/133mm KMZ "GRAND PRIX Brussels 1958" lensPros: the bokeh is nice, built to survive a nuclear blast, inexpensive

Cons: Min. focus distance 1.2m, a little difficult to handle…

Its not perfect but “Sharpness is a bourgeois concept” ― Henri Cartier-Bresson

The gallery shots were made with the PAN F PLUS at ISO 50 is the slowest of the Ilford films, but when image quality, fine detail and lack of grain are more important than film speed, Pan F plus excels. And I developed it with some higher contrast.

Escrito por

Founder of Lichtbild & Head of his own strange world / Vintage Enthusiast / Photographer / Graphic Designer /Typography "lover" / Book Collector / Spanish+German Mix / Lives in Coruña / Sometimes heads back home & Sleeps. /*

9 thoughts on “TAIR-11 2.8/133mm KMZ “GRAND PRIX Brussels 1958” lens”

  1. Sehr coole Bilder! Seit kurzem ist diese Linse auch in meiner Fototasche zu finden :-) Das Bokeh ist berauschend ;-) Wie du schon immer schreibst, wer sich nicht vom manuellen fokussieren abschrecken läßt, bekommt hier für wenig Geld eine wunderbare Linse. Ich besitze einen Adapter mit AF-confirm Chip, damit ist es wirklich einfach.
    LG kiki

    Me gusta

    • Hallo kiki ich hatte meine Erwartungen für die analoge Fotografie etwas heruntergeschraubt da ich den Adapter ohne AF-confirm Chip an meiner Canon 300 X benutz hatte aber naja gar nicht so unscharf wie ich befürchtet hatte :D

      Me gusta

      • Bislang hatte ich es nur an die Digitale geschraubt, aber heute bin ich mit der alten A1 um die Häuser gezogen. Mal schauen wie da die Ergebnisse aussehen. ;-) An die Schärfe bei Offenblende, welche das 135er Canon bietet kommt es nicht ran, aber der Gesamteindruck der Bilder spricht eindeutig für diese tolle Linse.

        Le gusta a 1 persona

  2. Das analoge Zeugs beginne ich erst zu beschnuppern, kann also nicht mitreden, aber besonders das obere Bild ist großartig. Dieser direkte Blick, der nicht durch die Mimik entschärft wird, macht es spannend!

    Me gusta

    • Vielen Dank!!! Nun ja, macht eigentlich auch nicht sehr viel sinn XD Nostalgischer Blödsinn Spaß… sehr viele Leute leiden heutzutage an NBS… Vorsicht Suchtgefahr ;P

      Le gusta a 1 persona

Responder

