Pentacon six tl

4 comentarios
*Film, *Personal, *Photography

This is the Good ol’ Pentacon Six from my Dad… so where do I start… I remember playing with this thing when I was a little boy pressing all the Buttons (I write this with a big smile)… ok, ok back to the present some years ago I started using the lenses on my Canon with an adapter but not often, most of them were unusable. The only lens that has survived time, me and my brothers was the CZJ 180mm f/2.8 MC Sonnar and seeing that camera “a bunch of heartbreak” I played with the idea to get it serviced and working again.

My father told me that it was not worth because of “some” issues though most problems can be fixed during a general overhaul which involves cleaning, lubrication and adjustments. He said that he shot the most beautiful pictures with this cam but it is also true that “this old stubborn piece of %#¢! chunk” let him down sometimes.

Memories and I admit it… some nostalgic feelings finally won.

I will send it to Germany for some maintenance. I think this was a good camera not great but good enough and perhaps a good and cheap choice for anyone who wants to try medium format photography. If you are like me who was able to play with systems like Hasselblad or Mamiya but don’t have the budget for them this could be an easy solution of course its not the same but… nothing it´s not the same…

Nowadays it seems quite difficult to find someone who is qualified to repair old mechanical cameras so it is needless to say that this camera is not for everyone. This camera needs care in a form of regular maintenance. I let you with some examples but please keep in mind that they have more than 20 years and the film was not conserved and they have been shot by a loving father. And he used only the waist level finder no metering prism… The Pentagon Six doesn’t have light meter… and I cannot remember any external light meter…

Escrito por

Founder of Lichtbild & Head of his own strange world / Vintage Enthusiast / Photographer / Graphic Designer /Typography "lover" / Book Collector / Spanish+German Mix / Lives in Coruña / Sometimes heads back home & Sleeps. /*

4 thoughts on “Pentacon six tl”

Responder

