Perish or Specialize

21 comentarios
*Black&White, *Landscape, *Personal, *Photography

My greatest error is that I try to do everything… but the truth is that I want to do it… today were ‘Everyone Is A Photographer’ and as Battle hardened photographers will tell you that their field used to be an specialized profession, difficult, and not suited for everyone.

Now that access to pocket or purse size super computer and camera are available it seems like everybody is a master photographer and call themselves professional photographers.

So what’s a true aspiring professional photographer has to do?

The answer “focus and specialize”. The worst mistake you can make is to trying to cover everything and If you want to be a wedding photographer, then go after but I can assure you that taking every paid project is a sure way to frustration.

As being only a photo assistant I have worked for already well established photographers and this was perhaps my biggest error I actually did everything…

Saying “no” to paying photography projects outside of your preferred style… NEVER… or perhaps…

In every professional field, those at the top making the most money and profit are those that specialize and find a lucrative niche… but the question is what did they do before they specialize? I worked for specialized photographers but I never met one who said no to a paid project…

So, don’t have your photography website that looks like mine trying to cover everything as the saying goes “Jack-of-All-Trades Means Master of None”

While you may think you’re covering a lot of fields in order to attract customers, you’re probably announcing that you’re not good at any specific type of photography.

So the question is will you make more Money specializing? How do you make more money by turning away business? Did I need to become an expert on a specific area of photography? Should I focus only in that what passionates me and pursue it like nobody else. There is tremendous power in the word “NO”, for example: “No, I don’t shoot weddings, I’m an food photographer.”

The need to distinguish yourself seems clear in a world where everyone has a camera and newer, more powerful, and smaller cameras are being released everyday, it can seem overwhelming to pursue a photography profession.

But you have to move beyond the equipment and gear as the “sign” of being a photographer. All those things are just tools, but the results are what you can proudly market and advertise.

Personally I purchase and collect art I even sell some pieces… well sometimes and I’ve very rarely heard any inquiring about what sort of camera was used or which computer was used. The final artwork is the thing that makes the connection and creates the desire.

Stop worrying about that fact that everyone has a camera and start focusing on what you can produce with yours.

I know I have made some reviews on my own equipment but to tell the truth I did it only to post some entries… And never allow yourself to be “just” a photographer instead try to be the best at a particular type of photography… hmm perhaps I am a Landscape photographer…

Specialize or Perish

Escrito por

Founder of Lichtbild & Head of his own strange world / Vintage Enthusiast / Photographer / Graphic Designer /Typography "lover" / Book Collector / Spanish+German Mix / Lives in Coruña / Sometimes heads back home & Sleeps. /*

21 thoughts on “Perish or Specialize”

  1. I love both images but especially the first – such simplicity – I agree with most that you have said – the digital era has moved the goalposts. I am one of those so called professionals. I had a 32 year career in the RAF retiring to take up photography full time. I was going to teach photography and do photo walks and ended up shooting property and selling landscapes for pocket money. I will dabble in a variety of subjects but only to place myself in stretch. My property work is improving and as a result my landscape editing has benefited. Technically I am a professional as over 65% of my salary comes from photography but I know I am learning and as for weddings no thanks :-)

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  2. Hi! I love your photos, they express a lot in a very simple way. Also I like your posts and advices. I started with my photography blog a week ago and it would be very constructive if you can give me your opinion of my photos. Thank you and keep on doing what you do!
    China.

    Me gusta

  3. Diesen Bildern nach zu urteilen, könnte das mit dem Landschaftsfotografen hinkommen ;-). Ich finde übrigens auch das Erste ungewöhnlich und schön. Im Grunde ist es wohl wie in fast allen Arbeitsbereichen, der Spezialist ist immer der besser bezahlte, wenn er denn gut ist in seinem Bereich.
    In der Fotografie fällt es schwer sich derart begrenzen zu müssen, aber man hört und liest überall, dass es nur so geht. Tja…..

    Me gusta

  4. Tolle Aufnahmen, Alberto. Ich mach so gut wie nichts mit dem quadratischen Format, aber hier kann ich mir wieder etwas abgucken ;-) Aber mal im Ernst, die digitale Welt ist voll mit Aufnahmen aller Art. Ich find’s gut, wenn man einfach schauen kann, was heutzutage alles möglich ist. Das ein oder andere probiert man dann selber aus, wenn es denn zur eigenen Motivwahl passt. Ich seh das locker, Geld verdienen will ich damit nicht, bin auch viel zu schlecht, Aufträge würd ich nie annehmen, dann steh ich nur unter Druck und das ist das letzte was ich meinem Hobby zumuten möchte. Was bin ich? Hm… ein Bokehjunkie? Oder vielleicht doch eher Landschaft? Das durchgeknallte Lensbaby?… Ach, ich mach einfach alles :-D
    LG kiki

    Le gusta a 1 persona

    • Ach was niemand ist schlecht ;P man muss nur wissen wie man sich verkauft XD hmmm wie wärs mit einem Landschaftsbokehjunkie… da fällt mir ein “bokehramas” die hab ich ja total vergessen ;P müsste mal was darüber schreiben… Alles Gute

      Me gusta

      • Wer ich? Neee… niemals… vielleicht… ein bisschen… ganz wenig… aber nicht nur Brautpaare… XD

        Me gusta

      • Ist wahrscheinlich auch schon zu spät für so etwas. Herr Brenizer war da schneller ;-) Aber im Ernst, ich hab mir Hugin geladen, kurz auf die Benutzeroberfläche geschaut, nix verstanden und das Programm wieder geschlossen. Tja…. :-D

        Le gusta a 1 persona

      • Den hab ich ja total vergessen XD naja egal… ich glaub die bei flickr waren die ersten die bokehramas benutzt haben oder bei Tumblr aber diese Technik ist ja auch ne heiden arbeit so 80 bis 120 Bilder zusammen zu stichen. Ich benutze da Autopan Giga funktioniert einwandfrei. Und da gibt es ja noch David Hockney mit seinen Collagen ist zwar nicht das gleiche aber auch interessant ;P

        Me gusta

  5. So true, and your frustrations are felt by many. There are no easy routes to being a professional photographer, and these days I think it is close to impossible to be one without defining what type of photographer you are and then focusing everything in that area…and then enjoy the process. You seem to do it well, and love the shots above.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  6. Das ist phantastisch. Besonders das erste ist außergewöhnlich und ich glaube Spezialisierung ist der richtige Weg. Letztendlich bist du deine eigene “Marke” und da steht was drauf, was deine Fotos wollen und natürlich auch, welcher “Vertriebsweg” der beste ist. Ganz unabhängig davon, dass Spezialisten in ihrem Gebiet auch besser sind als Allrounder. Auch wenn sicherlich zuerst das Risiko da ist, sich Lebensadern abzuschneiden. Da kann ich als Amateuer nicht mitreden mit diesen Sorgen.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  7. Specialization can be a necessity. But it can also be a trap. It’s hard to find the balance if your interests are diverse. But that’s okay. Push the boundaries and keep going.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  8. very interesting post :) photography is a hobby for me and I dont know how things work in the professional field… but I think that with all those photographers out there, it’s not so much their specialization, but their eye and style and attitude that will make me choose among them… :)

    both photos are incredible, but the first one is freakin stunning!!!

    Le gusta a 1 persona

Responder

