Break the rules

28 comentarios
*Pets, *Photography

Learn all the rules, then break them.

As much as I ignore rules, they’re there for a reason. The first time I heard about the Depth of field (DOF), also called focus range or effective focus range which is the distance between the nearest and farthest objects in a scene that appear acceptably sharp in an image my mind was blown. I quickly began shooting all my images wide open, and I was pleasantly surprised. And then I was bored… the same happened with the “Rule of Thirds”  I quickly began rearranging all my images to fit In some cases… and then bored again ok it may be desirable to have the entire image sharp, and a large DOF is appropriate. In other cases, a small DOF may be more effective, emphasizing the subject while de-emphasizing the foreground and background depending on what you want to achieve. The “Precise focus” is now one of my favorite rules to break – but it’s broken with intent, not by accident. There’s a difference… and it´s a complete personal feeling I like out of focus photos perhaps its because I wear glasses, or because I like the nostalgic shots from my parents, I simply love pictures that look like blurred memories.

Fiberglass decorations light

The shot from above was created with some sort off cheap fiberglass decorations light with LED color changer hold right in front of the camera and then focused the background where king was sitting… changed the image into black and white because of the colors from the fiberglass lights.

Some Boring Dog Photos from 2007-2015
Some extra for those who like reading: King the Coastguard

Well I used this occasion to post some photos of King and you may think another post with a Dog how typically boring, actually I dedicate it to this old stubborn Dog who has tried to save me this weekend and I till get a goose bump skin when I think about it… I was swimming near the coast as I usually do after running especially with this sunny weather and since I`m not able to take King anymore running because of his arthrosis I take him swimming. So while diving I got some water in the throat and I started coughing, I was not in real danger and the next what happened is that my dog is pulling my arm to get me out of the water… we never teached him to do that and of course nobody was there to film it… (as dogs are not allowed on beaches I take him to rocky areas where no people are who may feel bothered) and it was a very touchy moment while he was standing there on the rocks wagging his tail as if nothing… I have to get a Waterproof housing for my Cam…

Escrito por

Founder of Lichtbild & Head of his own strange world / Vintage Enthusiast / Photographer / Graphic Designer /Typography "lover" / Book Collector / Spanish+German Mix / Lives in Coruña / Sometimes heads back home & Sleeps. /*

28 thoughts on “Break the rules”

  1. Was für ein Moment! Ich kann mir gut vorstellen, wie unglaublich er gewesen sein muss. Hunde sind einfach das Allerschönste und ihre Liebe etwas ganz besonderes. Von daher habe ich die “langweiligen” Bilder sehr genossen und kann nur sagen – wunderschön! :)

    Me gusta

    • Das war ein Moment kaum zu glauben… viel besser als der als er mir beim joggen zwischen die beine gelaufen ist und ich hinterher auf dem Boden lag XD (weder Hund noch der Besitzer wurden beschädigt) Muss wohl eine Instinkt Reaktion gewesen sein, King ist ja eigentlich ein Jagdhund und naja vielleicht dachte er ich sei irgendeine komische Ente die er apportieren kann XD Schöne Grüsse

      Me gusta

      • Hahaha, den Trick hat meine Hündin auch schon versucht, allerdings war sie nicht ganz so erfolgreich ;) Bei ihr war der Grund aber wohl eher ein Rüde, der ihr den Kopf verdreht hat XD

        Le gusta a 1 persona

  2. salieschen dice:

    Ich mag irgendwie Bild 23 am liebsten ;) Und typisch Mädchen (wie ich eben eines bin) muss ich mal betonen, dass der Hund sehr süß ist! ;D

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  3. Langweilig?! Überhaupt nicht. Jedes Bild ist ein fotografischer Genuss. Die außergewöhnlichen Bildkompositionen und Lichtstimmungen machen die Serie zu etwas ganz Besonderem. Ein wunderbare Hommage an den einzigen “wahren” Freund des Menschen!

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  4. Die Regeln brechen? Ein guter Ratschlag für alle Perfektionisten, aber auch eine Herausforderung ;-)

    Nach dem Lesen des Artikels hatte ich auch eine Gänsehaut. Hunde….. So wunderbar! Deine Zuneigung zu deinem Hund werden in den Bildern sichtbar. Am lustigsten finde ich das Bild, auf dem er im Liegen frisst :-D. Das habe ich noch nie gesehen!
    Am schönsten finde ich jenes zwischen dem Ladentür- und dem Schüttelbild. Wie er da auf dem Felsen steht, vor diesem tollen Hintergrund…. Klasse!

    Me gusta

  5. awww, the photos are fantastic, not boring at all :) this is him from puppy to adult, growing up and his love for you growing up too, the story about him trying to save you gave me goosebumps too… I’m happy both of you are ok :)

    as for breaking the rules… loved that part of the post too… ima especially intrigued with what you say about not having precise foucus… I am very much at this stage now, when I started taking photos I was a sucker about precision of focus, now I go for blurrisms and do not care so much if the focus is ok, as long as the situation or emotion is genuine…

    have a wonderful Sunday, Alberto and King :)

    Me gusta

Responder

